- Profitable for 20 consecutive years since founding. KPMG-audited FY2024 net profit: €5.0m, ROE 15.1%, loan portfolio grew 28% to €80m.
- Provision expense jumped 45% in FY2024 (€3.85m → €5.57m). Management attributes this to tightened credit criteria cleaning the old book. Watch whether it normalises in 2025.
- Equity ratio ~39% as of Q3 2025 — well capitalised for a non-bank consumer lender. Debt-to-equity 1.5×. Funding secured by pledge of receivables.
- P2P access via Mintos only. Moncera, Placet's own platform, was discontinued in 2025. Single-platform exit is the primary structural risk for investors.
01Company snapshot
| Legal name | Founded | HQ | FSA license | Auditor | Investor platforms |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Placet Group OÜ | 2005 | Tallinn, Estonia | March 2016 | KPMG | Mintos (since 2018) · Moncera (discontinued 2025) |
Placet Group is an Estonian consumer lending group that has operated without a loss since its founding. The group runs consumer and SME lending in Estonia (laen.ee, smsraha.ee, placet.ee) and Lithuania (smspinigai.lt, paskolos.lt). It owns Moncera OÜ, a P2P platform it launched in 2020 and used to distribute loans to retail investors — but Moncera was discontinued in 2025. As of writing, Mintos is the only active platform through which investors can access Placet Group loans.
The group was also simplified on the corporate side. Wallester AS, a card-issuing fintech, was divested through a demerger in May 2024. The Poland subsidiary (Nordecum Sp. z.o.o.) was liquidated the same month. What remains is a focused consumer and SME lender in two stable Baltic markets.
02Business model
Placet's borrowers are solidly middle-market Baltic retail — the Estonia customer base skews 36–50 and 51+ (40% each), monthly income €601–1,500, applying 79% of the time via mobile. These are not payday borrowers. The typical product is a refinanced loan, consumer instalment, or revolving credit line — not a short-term cash advance, though those exist in Lithuania.
Revenue comes almost entirely from interest income (€18.8m of €22.8m total in FY2024). The remaining €4m is service fees. The interest spread is wide: borrowers pay 17.95% in Estonia and 32.83% in Lithuania (December 2024 averages), while P2P investors on Mintos typically receive 8–12%. That 10–25 percentage point spread is the engine.
The SME product line is the newest variable in the story. Launched in 2024, the business credit line grew 169% in its first year and represents 18% of the total portfolio as of end-2025 (per the investor presentation). This diversifies away from retail, but it also introduces a different credit risk profile that doesn't yet have a multi-year performance track record.
Scoring uses two independent in-house models with a Gini of ~80.6%, built and iterated since 2017. The company checks 7+ external registers per application and does not allow loans to be repaid from other loans. Lending criteria were actively tightened in 2023 and again in 2024.
03Financials
Sources: Placet Group OÜ FY2024 Consolidated Annual Report (audited by KPMG, signed October 2025); 1HY2025 unaudited consolidated report; 3Q2025 unaudited consolidated report; investor presentation (2026). Figures in euros unless stated. Note: 2023 consolidated figures include Wallester AS, which was divested May 2024 — direct year-on-year comparison is distorted.
| P&L | 9M 2025 (unaudited) | FY 2024 (audited) | FY 2023 (audited)* |
|---|---|---|---|
| Interest income | €15,579k | €18,828k | €15,608k |
| Interest expense | -€3,431k | -€3,414k | -€2,362k |
| Net interest income | €12,147k | €15,414k | €13,246k |
| Net fee income | €2,665k | €2,888k | €8,348k* |
| Operating expense (incl. provisions) | -€7,822k | -€9,681k | -€9,489k |
| Employee expense | -€2,420k | -€3,271k | -€6,996k* |
| Profit before tax | €5,013k | €5,721k | €5,349k |
| Net profit | €4,399k | €5,032k | €4,734k |
| Net profit growth (YoY) | — | +6.3% | — |
Strip out Wallester, and the trajectory is straightforward: interest income grew from €15.6m (2023) to €18.8m (2024) to an annualised run rate of ~€20.8m through 9M 2025. Net profit grew modestly each year — nothing spectacular, but consistent. This is not a lender swinging for aggressive growth; it's one optimising for sustainability.
The 9M 2025 quarterly reports compare current periods against full-year 2024 rather than the equivalent prior-year period — an unusual format that required some interpretation. The Q3 2025 quarter in isolation generated ~€5.4m interest revenue and ~€1.7m net profit, both the strongest of 2025's three quarters.
| Balance sheet | 30.09.2025 | 30.06.2025 | 31.12.2024 | 31.12.2023 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Net loan portfolio | €90,860k | €88,824k | €80,262k | €62,721k |
| Total assets | €93,166k | €90,622k | €81,824k | €89,145k* |
| Total equity | €36,026k | €34,877k | €33,368k | €33,548k |
| Total loan liabilities | €54,853k | €53,486k | €46,451k | €32,975k |
| Equity ratio | 38.7% | 38.5% | 40.8% | 37.6% |
The portfolio grew 28% in 2024 and is tracking towards 17% growth in 2025 (ending at ~€94m per the investor presentation). That deceleration is intentional — tighter underwriting criteria were introduced specifically to improve quality over volume. Equity has been accumulating steadily: €33.4m at year-end 2024 is up from ~€29m in 2022, funded by retained earnings. No large capital raises needed.
04Key ratios
| Ratio | FY 2024 (audited) | FY 2023 |
|---|---|---|
| Annualized NIM (net interest income / avg portfolio) | ~21.5% | ~25.1% |
| ROE | 15.1% | 14.1% |
| ROA | 6.2% | 5.3% |
| Interest coverage (EBIT / interest expense) | 2.7× | 3.3× |
| Provision expense / avg portfolio | ~7.8% | ~6.2% |
| Debt-to-equity | 1.39× | 0.98× |
| Equity-to-assets | 40.8% | 37.6% |
| NPL ratio | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
The NIM decline from ~25% to ~21.5% reflects the cost of growth: more borrowing to fund a larger portfolio. ROE and ROA are both moving in the right direction. Interest coverage at 2.7× is adequate — not comfortable, not alarming. NIM is narrowing, which is something to track as the book scales toward €100m and borrowing costs stay elevated.
Data gap: Placet does not publicly disclose a gross or net NPL ratio in their quarterly or annual reports. Loan quality is implied through provision expense trends (see section 5) but cannot be directly benchmarked against other originators without that figure. This is the most significant transparency gap in the public disclosures.
05Portfolio quality
No NPL ratio is published, so the best proxy is provision expense: €3.85m in FY2023 → €5.57m in FY2024, a 45% increase. As a share of operating expenses, provisions rose from 40.5% to 57.5%.
Management's explanation: the tighter lending criteria applied from 2023 onward required building provisions against legacy loans that no longer met the new standards. This is a plausible and honest explanation — cleaning up the old book before it becomes a problem is the right move. If it's true, provision expense should fall or stabilize in 2025 as the old book rolls off. If it stays elevated or rises further, that interpretation needs revising.
The 9M 2025 operating expense (which includes provisions) ran at €7.82m, compared to €9.68m for the full year 2024. That's a pace of €10.4m annualised — slightly higher than 2024. Some of this is portfolio growth (more loans = more provisions). Net profit is still growing. But it's worth flagging that provisions are not definitively normalising yet.
- Buyback guarantee: Available on Mintos. Specific day trigger not confirmed in public financial disclosures — check current Mintos listing terms before investing.
- Skin in the game: Not disclosed in financial reports. Confirm current SITG % on Mintos before committing capital.
- Collections: Placet owns UAB ITM Inkasso (Lithuania) for in-house debt collection, plus a relationship with PG Inkasso and Julianus Inkasso in Estonia. The in-house collector is a real advantage — they control the recovery economics on defaults.
06Funding structure
| Source | Amount (31.12.2024) | Rate | Security |
|---|---|---|---|
| Moncera OÜ / Mintos (overdraft) | €14,885k | 5.5% + Euribor | Pledge of loan receivables |
| Term loans (banks + other) | €21,891k | 5–15% | — |
| Current loans (due 2025) | €9,676k | 5–15% | — |
| Related-party loans (shareholders) | €5,750k | 7% | — |
| Total loan liabilities | €46,451k | — | — |
| Equity | €33,368k | — | — |
P2P dependency ratio: The Moncera/Mintos overdraft of €14.9m represents at minimum 18.5% of the net loan book (€80.3m) at year-end 2024. The "secured by pledge of claims" language in Note 7 covers the overdraft and loans from Moncera OÜ and Mintos Marketplace OÜ — the P2P exposure may extend into the term loan category, which would put the P2P dependency ratio higher. Exact split is not broken out further in the annual report. A floor of ~19% is confirmable; the ceiling is not.
The shareholder loan (€5.75m at 7%, grown from €4.4m in 2023) is a funding line where the lender has insider influence. It's common for Baltic lenders of this size and not alarming, but it's a slightly captive source that wouldn't survive if the shareholders' relationship with the company deteriorated.
P2P investor terms (from platform terms — not from financial reports):
- Mintos: Notes backed by claims, secured by pledge of underlying receivables. Rates typically 8–12%.
- Moncera was discontinued in 2025 and is no longer accepting investors.
07Skin in the game
On Mintos, Placet-originated loans are structured as Notes backed by claims — investors hold an economic interest in specific loan receivables, secured by a pledge of those receivables, rather than an unsecured creditor claim against Placet Group. If Placet defaults, the pledged receivables sit outside the general estate. The FY2024 annual report (Note 7) confirms the pledge of claims structure explicitly.
The specific retention percentage (SITG as % of each loan) is not disclosed in the financial reports. Confirm current SITG % on Mintos before investing.
08Regulatory and legal status
Placet Group OÜ holds a consumer creditor license issued by Finantsinspektsioon (the Estonian Financial Supervision Authority) in March 2016. UAB Nordecum operates under the Bank of Lithuania as the Lithuanian regulator. Both are operating under EU legal frameworks.
Moncera OÜ remains a legal subsidiary of Placet Group but discontinued operations as a P2P investment platform in 2025. Investors accessing Placet loans do so via Mintos, which is regulated by the Latvian FCMC as a licensed investment firm under MiFID II, providing EU-harmonised investor protections.
FY2024 audit: KPMG, clean opinion, signed October 2025. No material findings. KPMG is the same auditor for ESTO — it's the standard for the stronger end of Baltic non-bank lenders.
09Country risk
| Estonia | Lithuania | |
|---|---|---|
| S&P rating | A+/A-1 | A/A-1 |
| EU member | Yes (2004) | Yes (2004) |
| NATO member | Yes | Yes |
| Eurozone | Yes (2011) | Yes (2015) |
| Placet revenue share (FY2024) | 69.9% (€15.9m) | 30.1% (€6.9m) |
Estonia and Lithuania are both EU, NATO, and Eurozone members. Their legal systems are EU-harmonised and their financial regulators are functional. Estonia's A+ rating reflects sluggish GDP growth and demographic aging rather than institutional risk — both countries came through the 2024 near-stagnation period without the financial system distress that might have impaired Placet's borrowers more severely.
The Russian proximity tail risk applies here as it does to every Baltic-focused lender. NATO Article 5 and forward-deployed Allied forces are the structural backstop. This is a geopolitical risk that deserves explicit acknowledgment, not dismissal — but it hasn't materially impacted Placet's credit performance through the periods we can observe.
Lithuania's average borrower rate of 32.83% vs Estonia's 17.95% reflects a different product and risk mix: more short-term and consumer credit in Lithuania versus the longer-duration refinancing and credit line products that dominate in Estonia. Lithuania is the riskier book at the borrower level, and it's the minority (30%) of revenue.
10Verdict
| Dimension | Rating | Comment |
|---|---|---|
| Financial strength | ★★★★☆ | 20 profitable years, KPMG-audited, equity ratio ~40%. ROE 15% is solid but not exceptional |
| Portfolio quality | ★★★☆☆ | No NPL disclosed. Provision costs jumped 45% in 2024 — plausible explanation, but not yet confirmed by 2025 data |
| P2P investor risk | ★★★☆☆ | Claim assignment structure is sound. But Moncera discontinued = Mintos-only exit, same single-platform concentration risk as ESTO |
| Country risk | ★★★★☆ | EU/NATO/Eurozone both markets. Geopolitical proximity to Russia is a named tail risk |
Placet Group sits comfortably above the Baltic originator median on the fundamentals that matter most: 20 unbroken profitable years, a KPMG audit, a 40% equity ratio, and an interest spread wide enough to absorb meaningful credit losses. The financial buffer is real.
The picture for investors is more mixed than it was. Moncera's discontinuation in 2025 removes what had been a structural alignment story — Placet can no longer point to owning its distribution platform as evidence of long-term commitment to P2P investors. Mintos is now the sole access point, which means the same single-platform exit concentration that applies to ESTO also applies here. The caution flags on credit quality — the 45% provision jump in FY2024 and the absence of a public NPL ratio — are unchanged. When the FY2025 audited report lands, the provision trend is the first thing to check.
Data sources: Placet Group OÜ FY2024 Consolidated Annual Report (KPMG, October 2025) · 3Q2025 unaudited consolidated report · 1HY2025 unaudited consolidated report · Placet Group investor presentation (2026) · December 2024 monthly report. All reports at placetgroup.com/reports.
This is analysis, not investment advice. P2P lending involves risk of capital loss.